What is hidden in our eagerness for changes?

I was talking to my new roommate; she just moved to the city to do a rotation at one of the best hospitals for paediatrics. She explained to me that her patients are kids who are hospitalized. I said ‘That must be hard. I suppose you get used to it’. She said ‘Yes…………….most of the children die. It looks like a fun place to work’. My thoughts froze for a few seconds with the words: ‘children-die-fun’.  

I was walking home today rethinking the conversation and thought that maybe she really meant ‘challenging, stimulating…’ but she happened to use the word ‘fun’. (This is reminding me of Milan Kundera’s ‘The Unbearable Lightness of being’ when he mentions the ‘Little dictionary of misunderstood words’. That book gave me so much pleasure, by the way.) 

I ended up thinking how human beings seek changes and feel invigorated, sometimes even if what happens is tough.  

In some occasions I have pictured a situation in which I am given a nice house, in a beautiful but very quiet place, with enough to eat and get dressed. The only condition is that I remain there all my life. Would I take it? Would you take it? Why not?

10 Responses to “What is hidden in our eagerness for changes?”

  1. fanciber Says:

    Fun it is not a suitable word to describe that work.. Is her mother tongue English?

    It is difficult to me to think that just because the need of changes, a new situation in your life makes you happy even if it tough or sad, like in this case.

    Anyway, I suppose that all of us need to evolve to experiment new things, to wake up each morning not knowing what exactly is going to happen, that is the salt of life. That´s why sometimes couples break when nothing new happen even if the relation is ok and apparently perfect. That’s why people try with a new job.
    If you don’t want a radical change just have your hair cut, or buy new clothes🙂

  2. Celina Says:

    HA! Her use of the word “fun” is peculiar. I think their might be another interpretation of what she said. She said it “looks like a fun place to work,” meaning in reality it is not. Kids die. When one thinks of working with kids, one immediately conjures up images of playing with those kids, and being able to relive one’s youth with them. Not watching kids die, and the foreshadowing of one’s own expiration, and the inevitable death of all of our loved ones.

    I think she meant you would think her job was fun working with kids, but she has to watch them die. And for an adult to have to watch someone die much younger than you is awful and often extremely difficult. Watching life not fully developed, gone. There is an American saying, not sure if it is universal, that a parent should never have to watch their children die. Recovering from such a loss is often considered unbelievable. In addition to seeing young life die before it’s gotten a chance to age, you must witness someone younger die before you who is older. The sense of guilt, that you were able to last as long as you did is often very difficult to digest. That’s my two cents!

    But as for the comments on change, I think the concept that one’s freedom is gone without the ability or choice to change is very important to consider. It can be VERY frightening and suffocating for those of us who love and desire our freedom at all costs. Living in one house for the rest of your life can mean being a slave to that house for many, but having a palace for many as well. Perhaps the answer lies in our own particular free spirits? Freedom means different things to different people.

    Woo-hooo! Another good one, Ana!

  3. JORGE Says:

    ANA ,acabo de ver junto a un amigo la película que recomendaste “Olvidate de Mi” mal traduccida cierto), me ha parecido muy buena,ya hablamos) pero se le puede sacar unas reflexiones muy profundas gracias TQ…

  4. madridcity Says:

    you could write again? I need to know that there are in the mind of Ana at this moment .KISSES AND MEMORIES…

  5. Oscar Says:

    Ana, stop being so thought provoking and insightful!! I can’t concentrate on studying for school when I read your blog and it requires me to engage in some kind of deep, introspective reflection. Thanks.
    –Oscar

  6. Alex Says:

    It is difficult to know the really mean of “fun”…Even when everytime and every day we link this word with a smile. Maybe this is the really mean that your roommate want to say.
    I was working in a hospital too, and with child too, child that had cancer, and my only solution was be a “comic” for this child. They, every day, wanted some new “chiste” (Ana, please translate to all, because I don´t remember now…) and I try, every day do it. Then, for this child the hospital was the only “funny” place, because all my friends and me try that all this beautiful person forget to cry. For all the person that work there the hospital was a terrible place, but for this child was fun..
    Un beso Ana…de nuevo

  7. Amplitudvisible Says:

    Alex,
    Your comment is reminding me of Robin Williams’ movie ‘Patch Adams’; It gets a little weird at the end but the essential part of the movie makes it one of my favourites………..it is kind of the philosophy I pursue in my life………………….I pursue it………………I get there some times………………………

  8. madridcity Says:

    A long time ago your you recommended blog to me, now I want to give back the gift, this is my completes pleasing surprise .KISS
    http://ciudaddeparis.wordpress.com/

  9. Amplitudvisible Says:

    Thanks for recommending that blog. I already knew about it and was planning to add it to ‘See others’ blogs’…….

  10. Buscando el Sol Says:

    come back

Leave a Reply

